Mikkel Nordsø Quintet - Out There

Mikkel  Nordsø  Quintet - Out  There

Stunt  Records / Vertrieb: Inakustik

CD:  STUCD  18092,  LP:  STULP  18091  and  digital

Veröffentlichung: 25. Januar 2019

Featuring  Alvin  Queen,  Tomas  Franck,  Ben  Besiakov,  Anders  Christensen

John  Coltrane  died  on  the  17th  of  July  in  1967,  at  age  40.  Jimi  Hendrix  died  on  the  18th  of  September  in  1970  at  the  age  of  27.  Despite  their  early  departures,  their  musical  legacies  grow  in  reach  and  importance  with  each  passing  year.  Many  have  built  on  where  they  left  off  and  wondered  how  would  it  have  sounded  if  Jimmy  Hendrix  and  John  Coltrane  had  crossed  paths  while  they  were  alive.  The  meeting  between  Coltrane’s  cosmic  and  Jimi’s  psychedelic  universes  might  well  have  been  something  that  we  hear  from  this  recording  with  guitarist  Mikkel  Nordsø,  the  “Swedish-Dane”  tenor  saxophonist  Tomas  Franck,  Ben  Besiakov  on  keyboard,  Anders  “AC”  Christensen  on  bass,  and  the  legendary  American  drummer,  Alvin  Queen.


Nordsø  explains  the  birth  of  the  project:  “When  I  first  heard  Hendrix  as  a  12  or  13-year-old,  I  thought  he  was  shy  because  he  burned  his  own  guitar,  but  then  I  heard  him  play  and  flipped  out!  It  was  so  wild,  and  like  John  Coltrane  on  recordings  such  as  “A  Love  Supreme,”  it  blew  my  mind  as  a  9-year-old  –  they  are  the  musicians  who  inspired  me  (and  many  with  me)  the  most  when  I  was  young.  I’ve  always  wanted  to  play  some  well amplified  guitar  mixed  with  the  sound  of  Coltrane  Jazz...  and  the  first  time  I  heard  Alvin  Queen  play,  I  realised  the  possibility  of  the  perfect  line-up  for  it.  Elvin  Jones  was  his  mentor,  and  he  is  the  best  live  jazz  drummer  in  my  life  today.  Tomas  Franck  is  not  only  the  champion  of  the  Coltrane  style,  he  also  has  this  cosmic  thing  I’m  looking  for,  and  so  do  Ben  and  AC,  who  are  great  musicians  in  both  rock  and  jazz.”


With  these  words,  Nordsø  and  company  have  gone  into  the  psychedelic/cosmic  studio...


About  Mikkel  Nordsø:

Mikkel  Nordsø  (born  in  1955  in  Denmark)  is  a  Danish  guitarist  and  composer  who  is  best  known  for  leading  the  Mikkel  Nordsø  Band  (MNB)  and  for  appearing  on  more  than  200  albums.  Nordsø  began  playing  flamen-co  guitar  at  age  11,  and  at  15  he  joined  the  legendary  Danish  trumpeter  Palle  Mikkelborg’s  project  V8  and  the  pioneering  latin/funk  band  Buki-Yamaz.  In  1985,  he  created  the  MNB  as  a  platform  for  his  own  compositions.  He  has  toured  all  over  Europe,  North  America,  South  America,  Africa,  and  Asia,  and  has  performed  and  recorded  with  David  Sanborn,  Basikou  Kyate,  Randy  Brecker,  Stanley  Clarke,  George  Duke,  Gary  Burton,  Terri  Lyne  Carrington,  Niels-Henning  Ørsted  Petersen,  and  many  others.  In  additions  to  his  album  credits,  Nordsø  has  composed  music  for  several  film  scores,  theatre  pieces,  ballet  music,  and  radio  and  TV  appearances.  He  can  be  heard  as  a  band  leader  on  more  than  20  Stunt  Records  releases,  including  six  with  the  MNB:  DIVING  IN  SPACE  FOR  3  DECADES  (2015),  GUITAR  ME  (1991),  SPACEDIVER  (1993),  LIVE  1995  (1995),  GOAL  (2000)  and  the  MNB  FEATURING  RAUL  REKOW  LIVE  (2006).  Other  notable  releases  on  Stunt  Records  include  2010’s  FIVE  STEPS  2  HEAVEN,  4  releases  with  Acoutic  Guitars,  2  releases  with  Bombay  Hotel  and  two  releases  with  Blue  Lotus.



Mikkel  Nordsø  (g),  Tomas  Franck  (ts),  Ben  Besiakov  (keyb),  Anders  Christensen  (b),  Alvin  Queen  (d).    Take  Off/Next  to  the  Mountain/Floating  Squaw/Rock  Train/Out  There/Sweet  Silence.


CD:  STUCD  18092,  LP:  STULP  18091  MIKKEL  NORDSØ  QUINTET  -  OUT  THERE,  Stunt  Records/Sundance  Music  ApS  2018