Norah Jones – Little Broken Hearts

10th Anniversary DELUXE EDITION

Der Albumklassiker von Norah Jones zum Jubiläum jetzt als Deluxe-Edition und als neu gemischte/remastete Originalfassung!


2011 trat Norah Jones als Gastsängerin auf dem Album „Rome“ von Danger Mouse und Daniele Luppi auf. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Danger Mouse inspirierte beide das Jahr darauf zur Zusammenarbeit an dem Album „Little Broken Hearts“, das Danger Mouse produzierte. Es wurde von Kritikern und Fans gefeiert, debütierte auf Platz 2 der US-Pop-Charts und gehört heute zu ihren erfolgreichsten Aufnahmen.


Zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum erscheint „das zweite essentielle Werk in Norah Jones‘ Karriere“ (SPIN) jetzt in vier neuen Formaten:


DELUXE EDITION mit acht Alternativ-Versionen/Remixen, sowie einer kompletten Liveaufnahme des Albumrepertoires, die Norah Jones 2012 im Austin City Limits aufgenommen hat

DELUXE 3-LP: Tri-Fold-Sleeve, 3 x 140g LPs, Optimal-Pressung

DELUXE 2-CD: Jewelcase mit ausführlichem Booklet



1-LP: bedrucktes Inner-Sleeve, 140g LP, Optimal-Pressung

1-CD: Jewelcase mit ausführlichem Booklet



A decade ago, Norah Jones defied expectations with her 5th studio album Little Broken Hearts, a striking collaboration with the producer Danger Mouse that arrived 10 years after her debut Come Away With Me prompting SPIN to call it “the second essential record of Norah Jones’ career.”

On June 2, Blue Note Records will release the expanded 31-track Little Broken Hearts (Deluxe Edition) curated by Jones and Eli Wolf which includes rare bonus tracks, alternate versions, and remixes, as well as a previously unreleased live version of the album that was recorded for Austin City Limits in 2012.

The Deluxe Edition is available as a 3-LP set, 2-CD set, and digital download. Listen to “Killing Time,” a bonus track that is available digitally for the first time.

“10 years later, these are still some of my favorite songs in my catalogue to play live, no matter the instrumentation or arrangement, they just feel special,” says Jones. “And the way this album sounds makes my ears so happy. I’m incredibly thankful to Danger Mouse for letting me explore with him and opening up my world to a new way of doing things that continues to inspire and influence me.”

Norah Jones and Danger Mouse (aka Brian Burton) first worked together when the producer called upon her to contribute vocals to his acclaimed 2011 album ROME. It was Jones’ singular voice that caught Burton’s attention as he began to conceptualize his homage to classic Italian film score music. He already had Jack White in mind for the male role, and he and his collaborator Daniele Luppi realized that Jones’ voice would give the project the perfect balance it needed. Jones contributed three standout songs to ROME including “Black” (a live version of which is included on this set) and their connection proved deep enough that they decided to collaborate again on Jones’ next studio album.

In a first for her, Jones arrived to the studio empty-handed – no tunes, no arrangements, just a few ideas in a notebook. The songs were all built from the ground up with Jones and Burton sharing all the songwriting credits and performing the majority of the instrumental parts; Jones on piano, keyboards, bass, and guitar, and Burton contributing drums, bass, guitar, keyboards, and string arrangements. The process was a complete change for Jones, but once they started it didn’t take long for her to warm to the challenges of creating on the fly using whatever resources she and Burton had between them. (Later, they brought in a band—including drummer Joey Waronker, bassist Gus Seyffert, and guitarist Blake Mills—to bolster many of the tracks.)

Released in 2012, Little Broken Hearts was a fascinating and unexpected step in Jones’ artistic evolution. Together she and Burton married their highly personal styles to create an entirely new sound. Created in the aftermath of a breakup, the album was a tour of stunningly nuanced environments. Twelve darkly luminous songs. Twelve little broken hearts. Each an exploration of wounded emotions from various perspectives that invariably led to a place of beauty and uplift.

While some tracks sounded like classic Norah Jones—such as the contemplative opener “Good Morning”—most explored rhythms, textures, and themes far from her comfort zone from the high-energy groove of “Say Goodbye” and the buoyant hooks of “Happy Pills” to the impressionistic dream-sequence reflections of “After The Fall” and the chilling murder ballad “Miriam.”

“I didn’t expect all the lyrics to tie in so well, especially since we wrote in such a spontaneous way,” Jones said at the time. “It turns out to be kind of a story. It has these different dimensions, things sneak up on you. And even though the record has all these cool sounds and interesting grooves that are Brian’s signature, mostly I’m proud of our writing together. The songs themselves.”

“Norah and I got very close as friends,” Burton said. “When you know somebody really well and you start writing together, we’re able to talk to each other in conversation through lyrics in a way.” Jones also recalled “We’d have these great conversations about love and relationships and the endless attempts to understand that stuff, and somehow they just seeped into what we were doing. That’s one of the great things about music, you can take the anxiety and anguish that you’re living and turn it into something that might really lift up somebody else.”

The track listing for Little Broken Hearts (Deluxe Edition) is as follows:




A1  Good Morning

A2  Say Goodbye

A3  Little Broken Hearts

A4  She’s 22

A5  Take It Back

A6  After The Fall

B1  4 Broken Hearts

B2  Travelin‘ On

B3  Out On The Road

B4  Happy Pills

B5  Miriam

B6  All A Dream






C1  Killing Time *^

C2  I Don’t Wanna Hear Another Sound *^

C3  Out On The Road (Mondo Version) *^

C4  Miriam (Peter Bjorn and John Remix) ^

D1  Good Morning (David Andrew Sitek Rmx))

D2  She’s 22 (David Andrew Sitek Remix)

D3  Take It Back (David Andrew Sitek Remix)

D4  After The Fall (David Andrew Sitek Remix)












E1  Good Morning **^

E2  Say Goodbye **^

E3  Little Broken Hearts **^

E4  She’s 22 **^

E5  Take It Back **^

E6  After The Fall **^

F1  Out On The Road **^

F2  Happy Pills **^

F3  Miriam **^

F4  All A Dream **^

F5  Black **^

** previously unreleased

* previously unreleased digitally

^ previously unreleased on vinyl

PR Radio

Universal Music Jazz (Deutsche Grammophon GmbH)

Stralauer Allee 1, 10245 Berlin

1CD (Original) / 2CD Deluxe Edition / LP (Original) / 3LP-Set Deluxe-Edition / DIGITAL

VÖ: 02.06.2023

Fotos I Cover